Dozens of local students attend Rose’s Youth Advisory Council in Springfield

State Sen. Chapin Rose hosted dozens high school students from across the 51st Senate District April 2 at the Statehouse for his Youth Advisory Council.  

Rose’s bi-annual Youth Advisory Council gives students a unique, hands-on, and up-close experience in state government. Rose spoke about his experience in the legislature, discussed how bills become law, and what it’s like to work in the political arena. Students also heard from other speakers in public policy and toured the Capitol. 

The students, who were selected by their teachers and principals to participate, also worked in small groups to propose mock legislation, and then discussed and debated their proposals with the entire group.

In the fall, the students will join Rose again, only this time, in the district.



Schools and students included:

Warrensburg: Kyle Frazier, Claire Peters, Will Blythe 

Villa Grove:Jake Gulick, Breleigh Eversole

Tuscola: Ashton Smith, Jacob Craddock, J.D. Barrett

Tri Valley: Evan Quist, Alex Mortenson

Unity High School: Ayradi Catron

Sullivan: Cullen Dyer, Spencer Johnson

Shiloh: Emily Hall, Hali Wenglarz

Shelbyville: Chase Tainor

Salt Fork: Karsyn Foster, Kade Bennett

Paris: Abigail Minnis, Cory Cearlock

Okaw Valley: Ethan Macklin, Natalie Jeffers

Mt. Zion: Jackson Bacon, Andrew Schollmeier, Kylie Nichols

Maroa Forsyth: Ariana Speagle

Mahomet: Tim Glumac, Lindsey Hodges

Fisher: Alexis Hallden, Matthew Tobeck

Clinton: Josh Burton

Cerro Gordo: Jared Mann, Christine Hoving

Central A&M: Ella Forlines, Tyler McLain

Bement: Sydney Gadbury, Braden Fogerson

Arthur: Andrew Abercrombie, Aiden Stewart, Gabriel Hallford, Audrianna Kauffman, Caden Miller, Teacher: Michelle Ferguson

Arcola: Ilusha Budd, Ben Crane, Jacob Butler, Garrett Sigrist

Chapin Rose

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: