Illinois Hospital Association Honors State Senator Chapin Rose as Rural Legislator of the Year

Today, the Illinois Hospital Association (IHA) presented its eighth annual Rural Legislator of the Year Award to State Senator Chapin Rose (R-51, Mahomet) for his strong commitment and support of small and rural hospitals.

“Senator Rose has been a strong supporter of rural health care, working with local hospital leaders to understand the unique needs and challenges they are facing,” said IHA President and CEO Maryjane A. Wurth. “The Senator engages with small and rural hospital leaders to understand their unique opportunities and challenges, and how they are leading the way to transform health care. He also takes the time to understand the work that is being done by these hospitals to provide quality care each and every day.”

During this legislative session, Sen. Rose worked collaboratively with IHA and the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) to create legislation (SB1298)—The CARE (Caregiver Advise, Record, Enable) Act—which helps to ensure that family caregivers in Illinois have improved education and resources to care for their loved ones at home after a hospital stay. The bill passed overwhelmingly in both the Illinois House (116-0) and Senate (51-0).

“Sen. Rose has been a champion for health care in our district and in Piatt County since I first met him,” said Steven D. Tenhouse, CEO, Kirby Medical Center, Monticello, in his nomination form. “He has been responsive to our needs and understands the importance of supporting and promoting health care close to home.”

Sen. Rose’s committee assignments include: Minority Spokesperson – Appropriations II; Minority Spokesperson – State Govt. and Veterans Affairs; Member – Appropriations I; Member – Education; and Committee on Restorative Justice.

IHA’s Rural Legislator of the Year Award recognizes state and/or federal leaders for their efforts to pass legislation and support initiatives that improve the ability of rural hospitals to serve their communities. Recipients are based on nominations from small and rural hospital leaders. State Senator Andy Manar (D-48, Bunker Hill) also received this year’s IHA’s Rural Legislator of the Year Award.
IHA’s Small & Rural Hospitals Constituency Section includes 86 hospitals that either have fewer than 150 acute care beds and/or are located outside a metropolitan statistical area.

Chapin Rose

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: